## *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* 2011 (FIRST) Regular Session

## Resolution No. 185-31 (LS)

Introduced by:

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D. R. J. Respicio Judith P. Guthertz, DPA T. R. Muña Barnes v. c. pangelinan T. C. Ada V. Anthony Ada F. F. Blas, Jr. B. J.F. Cruz Chris M. Dueñas Sam Mabini, Ph.D. Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr. Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. M. Silva Taijeron Aline A.Yamashita, Ph.D.

Relative to commending and congratulating the members of the Fiftieth (50<sup>th</sup>) University of Guam Student Government Association as they assume office for the 2011 to 2012 Academic Year; and to further thanking the members and advisors of the Forty-Ninth (49<sup>th</sup>) University of Guam Student Government Association for their service, commitment and diligence during the 2010 to 2011 Academic Year.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the 2011 to 2012 Academic Year rings in a new era of stewards
tasked with ensuring that students have a voice in the fulfillment of the mission of the
University of Guam; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Fiftieth (50th) University of Guam Student
Government Association (UOG SGA) include Jesse J. Quenga, President; JoDee
Marie Perez Catahay, Vice-President; Brittany M. Aguon, Treasurer; David Q.
Mercado, Jr., Secretary; and Rhea Nicole Aninzo, Jermaine Dahilig, Jaydee M.
Damaso, Kebor P. Kerradel, D'Leoleigh-Aloha U. Layce, Kimberly Mae B. Pacay,
Rica O. Quejado, Anthony Roy Quenga, Marissa M. Ricalde, Jayson D. Smith, and
Catherine A.S. Terlaje, Senators; and

WHEREAS, as members of the Fiftieth (50th) UOG SGA, they will carry forward the work of past student governments, while ensuring that opportunities for self-expression remain and the formation of new and improved educational programs continues; and

WHEREAS, the Fiftieth (50th) UOG SGA, as stated in its preamble, is set to practice the principles of democracy, provide services, coordinate activities for UOG students, and encourage cultural unity among members of the institution and the island-community; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Forty-Ninth (49th) UOG SGA include:
Benjamin F.A. Leon Guerrero II, 4-Term President; Lisa Maureen Terlaje Meeks,
Vice President; Angelica Topasna Mantanona, Treasurer; Heather Marie M. Leon
Guerrero, Secretary; and Regina Fergurgur Bato, Christopher C. Bawar, Frank Lee
San Nicolas Borja, Paciano Naputi Gumataotao, Alice B. Mendoza, Jesse John

Quenga, Queanna Savanna Camacho Sablan, Brian DeLeon Guerrero Salas, Amanda
 L. Shelton, Charles San Jose Santos, and Johnny Masao Silbanuez, Senators; and

WHEREAS, those advisors that provided guidance to the Forty-Ninth (49th)
UOG SGA include: Senior Advisor Dr. Ansito Walter, Division of Public
Administration; and Advisor Dr. Michael Griffin, Communications & Fine Arts; and

6 WHEREAS, through their experience with the UOG SGA and the education 7 attained at UOG, the SGA members of today are destined to become tomorrow's 8 leaders; now therefore, be it

9 **RESOLVED,** that *I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, 10 on behalf of the people of Guam, commend and congratulate the members of the 11 Fiftieth (50th) University of Guam Student Government Association, and wishes them 12 great success during the 2011 to 2012 Academic Year; and does further extend a 13 sincere *Un Dangkulo Na Si Yu'os Ma'ase'* to the members and advisors of the Forty-14 Ninth (49th) University of Guam Student Government Association for their service, 15 commitment, and diligence during the 2010 to 2011 Academic Year; and be it further

16 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, 17 the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Jesse 18 John Quenga, President of the Fiftieth (50<sup>th</sup>) University of Guam Student Government 19 Association; to Mr. Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon Guerrero II, President of the 20 Forty-Sixth (46<sup>th</sup>) through the Forty-Ninth (49<sup>th</sup>) University of Guam Student 21 Government Association; to Dr. Robert Underwood, President, University of Guam; 22 and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

## DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 26<sup>TH</sup> DAY OF AUGUST 2011.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker

TINA<sup>V</sup>RQSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary